GUWAHATI/NEW DELHI: Manik Saha is set to continue as Tripura CM though a section of the newly elected MLAs were in favour of his replacement by Union minister Pratima Bhoumik, who has been elected as an MLA in the just concluded elections, BJP sources said.
BJP retained Tripura with a comfortable majority even when a strong fight was predicted amid speculations of anti-incumbency and also the fact that archrivals Congress and the Left had a prepoll alliance. Saha replaced Biplab Deb as Tripura CM barely a few months ago.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi will attend the swearing-in functions of the new governments in all three northeastern states next week.
PM Modi will travel from New Delhi on March 7 and attend the swearing-in function of the NDPP-led NDA government under the leadership of Neiphiu Rio in the morning after which he will fly to Shillong to attend the NPP-led NDA government’s swearing-in under Conrad Sangma.
From Shillong, Modi will reach Guwahati where he will meet the members of the Assam cabinet. On March 8, he will fly to Agartala to attend the swearing-in of the BJP-led NDA government.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *